Sandy Claus is Comin’

IMG_1275

Up on the rooftop, click, click, click (one of the new views from our loft area under construction)

Today is the one-year anniversary of the death of 22-month old Richard Edwin-Ehmer Specht (Rees).  He died in a tragic accident as his father prepared for the arrival of Sandy.  So for the anniversary of the storm, I will not blog about anything I have lost.  I will reminisce about my old house and my own experiences another day.  Someday soon, I’m sure I will want to outline all I’ve learned in a year.

But for now, I only want to honor this boy, and his family’s wishes.  And so I invite you to become one of Rees’ Pieces tomorrow.  In the name of this little boy, please spread the sweetness by performing a kind act on the anniversary of Superstorm Sandy (and, of course, as often as you can).  You can visit www.ReesSpechtlife.com to find out more, and to order cards that will spread the word and hopefully, the acts of kindness.

We know how drastically a wind pattern, diagnosis, wrong step, or simple miscommunication can change the course of someone’s life.  And yet we never know what a simple act of kindness can right.

This Sandyversary, I plan to be a Sandy Claus, and deliver good things to those still trying to right their lives after the storm.  So please join me in dusting off your white beards two months early, and stuff someone’s stocking this week!

Leave a Reply

